Born: Ap­ril 5, 1850, Town­er Hill, Rome, Penn­syl­van­ia.

Died: Oc­to­ber 3, 1919, Long­wood, Mis­sou­ri.

Buried: Rose­hill Cem­e­te­ry, Chi­ca­go, Il­li­nois.

Pseudonym: Ro­bert Bev­er­ly.

Towner stu­died mu­sic under his fa­ther (a well known sing­er and teach­er in his own right), John Howard, George Root, and James Webb. He was mu­sic di­rect­or at the Cen­ten­ary Meth­od­ist Church in Bing­ham­ton, New York (1870-1882); the York Street Meth­od­ist Epis­co­pal Church, Cin­cin­nati, Ohio (1882-1884); the Un­ion Meth­od­ist Epis­co­pal Church, Cov­ing­ton, Ken­tucky (1884-1885); and the Moody Bi­ble In­sti­tute, Chi­ca­go, Ill­i­nois (1893-1919). The Amer­i­can Temp­er­ance Uni­ver­si­ty in Har­ri­man, Ten­nes­see, award­ed Towner a Doc­tor­ate of Mu­sic in 1900. His works in­clude:



  1. Anywhere with Jesus
  2. At Calvary
  3. Christ Jesus Hath the Power
  4. Covenant
  5. Gone from My Heart
  6. Full Surrender
  7. Hand That Was Nailed to the Cross, The
  8. He Will Answer Every Pray­er
  9. He’s a Friend of Mine
  10. Hear the Word
  11. I Am Standing on the Word of God
  12. I Do Love Jesus with All My Heart
  13. If We Brightly Shine
  14. Jesus Only, Let Me See
  15. Joyful Sound
  16. Light in the Eastern Sky
  17. Moody
  18. My Anchor Holds
  19. Nor Silver Nor Gold
  20. O Changeless Word
  21. O Thou God of My Salva­tion
  22. O Word of God
  23. Old Ship of Zion, The
  24. Only a Sinner
  25. Saved by the Blood
  26. Saving Grace
  27. Send Out a Light
  28. Some Sweet Day
  29. Sunset Gate, The
  30. Tell Out the Wonderful Story
  31. Though the Fig Tree Shall Not Blossom
  32. Trust and Obey
  33. What Will It Be When We See Him?
  34. Victory in My Soul